Veganism has been one of the biggest trends over the past few years. It has been on the rise and continues to be, with now more than half a million vegans in the U.S. alone, according to various studies.
Being a vegan is a lot more complicated than it sounds. There are even apps to help you clarify what foods are vegan and what foods are not.
The Definition of a Vegan
The definition of veganism, according to The Vegan Society, who coined the term in 1944, is:
“A philosophy and way of living which seeks to exclude—as far as is possible and practicable—all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose; and by extension, promotes the development and use of animal-free alternatives for the benefit of humans, animals and the environment. In dietary terms it denotes the practice of dispensing with all products derived wholly or partly from animals.”
It is far more than taking out meat and dairy products from your everyday diet. It is simply a stance on going against animal testing and cruelty.
What Kinds of Food Are/Are Not Vegan?
So which foods are vegan and which foods are not? To clarify, some pestos contain milk and eggs and Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce contains anchovies so those won’t be vegan-friendly.
Wine can also not be vegan-friendly as many wines are filtered through a fining agent, which can possibly include some animal products like; bone marrow, fish oil and gelatin.
Avocados, if they are custom made can also include cream; which includes milk for guacamole.
So, it is best if you do your research to find out what products may not vegan. Even snacks like Oreos, Chips Ahoy! Cookies, Ritz cheesy crackers, and even dark chocolate.